By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Advance voting for state runoffs will start Monday

Forsyth County voters will have a chance to return to the polls one more time in 2018 to vote in a pair of state runoffs.

Advance voting for the Dec. 4 runoffs for state secretary of state and public service commissioner for District 3 will begin Monday at four locations across Forsyth County. Voting will wrap up on Friday, Nov. 30.

Voting will be held at the Forsyth County Voter Registrations and Elections Office (1201 Sawnee Drive), Hampton Park Library (5345 Settingdown Road), Midway Park Community Building (5100 Post Road) and Sharon Springs Park Community Building (1950 Sharon Road).

Dates and times will differ by location.

The elections office will host voting every day 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

At the other three locations, hours will be 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 26, Wednesday, Nov. 28 and Friday, Nov. 30 and 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 27 and Thursday, Nov. 28.

All 15 of the county’s polling locations will be open on Election Day, and voting will be held 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Runoffs are required for races where no candidate got at least 50 percent of the vote plus one vote.

The secretary of state’s race will be between Republican Brad Raffensperger and Democrat John Barrow, both of whom beat out Libertarian Smythe Duval.

Raffensperger earned about 49.1 percent of the state’s total votes (1.91 million votes) and about 70 percent of Forsyth County’s (64,646 votes) to Barrow’s 48.67 percent (1.89 million votes) and 27.2 percent (25,097 votes), respectively.

Public service commission District 3, which represents metro Atlanta, will be between Republican Incumbent Chuck Eaton and Democratic challenger Lindy Miller. Libertarian Ryan Graham did not qualify for the runoff.

Eaton received 49.7 percent of the state’s votes (1.92 million votes) and about 70 percent of Forsyth’s votes (63,902 votes). Miller earned 47.6 percent of the state total (1.84 million votes) and 26.8 percent of Forsyth County’s (24,555 votes).