By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Here are the 19 semifinalists for Teacher of the Year in Forsyth County Schools

The Forsyth County Schools district named its 19 teacher-of-the-year semifinalists on Monday.

The 19 semifinalists were whittled down from 38 teachers of the year -- one from each of the district’s schools -- to include 10 from elementary schools, five from middle schools and four from high schools.

Three finalists will be revealed in early February before the overall teacher of the year is announced at the school system’s “Celebration of Excellence” luncheon on Friday, March 8. Last year’s winner was Jonas Strecker, a German teacher at South Forsyth High School.

Elementary school

Jacklyn Manton, Big Creek

Kara Hannah, Coal Mountain

Jenny McClain, Cumming

Kimberly Heglin, Mashburn

Rhonda Slaughter, Matt

Stacie Jassen, Midway

Wendy Wing, Sharon

Jackie Shirley, Silver City

Rachel Ashworth, Vickery Creek

Jessica Nicholson, Whitlow

Middle school

Joe Wilson, Liberty

Donna Jackson, North Forsyth

Tony Jones, Otwell

Beth Binns, Piney Grove

Kim Schreier, South Forsyth

High school

Angie Mitchell, Denmark

Amy Dykes, North Forsyth

Julie Hunt, South Forsyth

Mary Beth Rush, West Forsyth