By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Qualifying ends Friday for May 20 primary
Placeholder Image
Forsyth County News

At a glance

The following candidates must register with their respective local political party at the Forsyth County Administration Building and pay the qualifying fee listed:

* County Commissioner, Districts 1 and 3 — $1,047.02

* County Board of Education, Districts 1 and 2 — $36.00

* Solicitor General — $3,404.76

* State Court Judge — $4,139.68


Candidates qualifying for the following positions must register directly with the Secretary of State’s office. They must also pay the qualifying fee listed:

* State Superior Court Judges (2) — $3,607.56

* State Senator, Districts 27 and 51 — $400

* State Representatives, Districts 9, 22, 24, 25, 26 — $400

* Congress, Districts 7 and 9 — $5,220

(UPDATED 5:30 p.m. Thursday)


CUMMING — The qualifying period for candidates to run for elected office in the May 20 primary is winding down.

Political hopefuls for offices ranging from Forsyth County commission and school board to judges and state lawmakers have until noon Friday to file.

Candidates for state and federal offices, including state representatives and senators, must file with the Secretary of State.

Those seeking local office must go to the Forsyth County Administration Building in downtown Cumming and qualify with their party.

Both the county’s Democrat and Republican parties will have representatives manning the booths during qualifying hours in the building’s lobby to review qualifying information.

As of Thursday night, all the local candidates who have filed are Republican. They include:

* Solicitor: Bill Finch, Donna Gopaul (incumbent) and Susan Zereini

* County Commissioner District 1: Pete Amos (incumbent)

* County Commissioner District 3: Todd Levent (incumbent)

* Board of Education District 1: Ann Crow (incumbent), Amanda Nixon and Mark Weiss

* Board of Education District 2: Kristin Morrissey (incumbent)

* Superior Court Judges: Jeffrey S. Bagley and Philip C. Smith

* State House District 9: Kevin Kermit Tanner (incumbent)

* State House District 22:  Meagan C. Biello and Sam Moore (incumbent)

* State House District 24: Mark Hamilton (incumbent)

* State House District 25: Mike J. Dudgeon (incumbent)

* State House District 26: Geoff L. Duncan (incumbent)

* State Senate District 27: Lauren W. McDonald III, Jack Murphy (incumbent), John T. “Jack” Schiff and Michael E. Williams

* State Senate District 51: Stephen W. “Steve” Gooch (incumbent)

Prospective candidates must file a notice of candidacy, an affidavit and pay qualifying fees. The fees constitute 3 percent of the salary for each office plus supplements.

Candidates must meet a number of qualifications to run, including being a registered voter, not being a convicted felon, not owing any taxes and being a resident of the county.