By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Qualifying for May 24 primary off to quick start in Forsyth County

On the Net

More information on qualifying for the May 24 General Primary can be found online at:

* (for local posts)

* (for state offices)

CUMMING — More than 20 people, including 14 incumbents and several newcomers, qualified Monday for the General Primary on May 24 in Forsyth County.

Barbara Luth, Forsyth’s supervisor of voter registrations and elections, said qualifying got off to a typical fast start.

“Usually on the first day [qualifying is busier],” Luth said. “You might get a few dribs and drabs toward the end. Hopefully, more will come in if they’re going to come in.”

Prospective candidates can register at the county administration building from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Tuesday through Thursday and 8 a.m.-noon on Friday.

The requirements and the cost to sign up depend on the office. Those qualifying to seek state offices must do so in Atlanta.

Among the local positions on the ballot are sheriff, judges, county commission seats for Districts 2, 4 and 5 and board of education posts for Districts 3, 4 and 5. State lawmakers also are up for re-election this year.

Incumbents who qualified for re-election for local offices Monday included: Clerk of Courts Greg Allen; Probate Judge Lynwood Jordan; Sheriff Duane Piper; Tax Commissioner Matthew Ledbetter; District 4 Commissioner Cindy Mills; and District 3 Board of Education member Tom Cleveland.

They were joined by: Stan Rutledge, deputy coroner, who is running for coroner; Richard Swope for the District 2 commission post; Justin Hawkins for District 5 commission seat; and Anita Tucker for the District 5 school board post.

County Commissioners Brian Tam, in District 2, and Jim Boff, in District 5, have each said they won’t seek re-election.

All seven members of the Georgia Legislature are up for re-election, and all the members of Forsyth’s delegation qualified Monday with one exception.

District 25 state Rep. Mike Dudgeon of south Forsyth announced in January that he would not be seeking re-election due to his growing business.

Republican Sens. Steve Gooch of District 51 and Michael Williams of District 27 and Republican state Reps. Sheri Gilligan of District 24, Geoff Duncan of District 26, Kevin Tanner of District 9 and Wes Cantrell of District 22 qualified.

Stuart Jones, a financial planner, registered Monday to run for Dudgeon’s seat. So far, he is the only non-incumbent seeking a spot in the local delegation.

U.S. Reps. Rob Woodall of District 7 and Doug Collins of District 9 each qualified, though both will receive a challenge.

Collins, whose district includes north Forsyth, will go up against fellow Republican Roger Fitzpatrick, an educator from Cleveland.

Woodall will face a challenge from Democrat Rashid Malik of Lawrenceville, who is CEO of Malik College in Chamblee. District 7 covers south Forsyth and a large swath of Gwinnett County.

Once qualifying is complete, the county will begin working toward the primary. Advance voting will take place for three weeks prior to that election, beginning May 2.