By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
What you need to know about Tuesday’s runoff

The long process for the runoffs for local Republican and Democrat candidates is just about over.

On Tuesday, all polls will be open for the 2018 general primary runoff for races where no candidate received at least 50 percent of the vote plus one vote. Winners will represent their party in the general election on Nov. 6.

Voters should be aware that if they voted for a party in the primary, they have to vote for the same in the runoff. Those who did not vote or voted nonpartisan in the primary can vote for either party.

Republicans will choose between gubernatorial candidates Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle and Secretary of State Brian Kemp, lieutenant gubernatorial candidates State Sen. David Shafer and former state Rep. Geoff Duncan and secretary of state candidates former Alpharetta Mayor David Belle Isle and state Rep. Brad Raffensperger.

Democrats will vote for state school superintendent candidates Sid Chapman and Otha Thornton Jr. and District 7 U.S. Rep. candidates Carolyn Bourdeaux and David Kim. The winner of the congressional runoff will face Rep. Rob Woodall in November.

As of press time, which excludes the final day of advance voting, 5,479 locals had cast ballots during the three weeks.

Advance voting for the runoff was open for three weeks, including one Saturday and not including July 4, from July 2 through Friday. Voting was only held at the Forsyth County Elections Office for the first two weeks before opening at Hampton Park Library and the community buildings of Midway and Sharon Springs parks for the final week.

All local precincts will be open for the race, and voters must go to their designated precinct, unlike advance voting which allowed voting at any location. Voting will be held 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

It should be noted that the Browns Bridge and Chestatee precincts have moved from their previous locations to Central Park Recreation Center at 2300 Keith Bridge Road.

Voters can find their precinct online at the voter registrations and elections department page at or or by calling the department at (770) 781-2118.

Voting will be held at the following precincts and locations:

·         Precinct 1- Big Creek: First Redeemer Church, 2100 Peachtree Parkway  

·         Precinct 2- Brandywine: Calvary Chapel, 200 James Road

·         Precinct 3- Browns Bridge: Central Park Recreation Center, 2300 Keith Bridge Road

·         Precinct 4- Chestatee: Central Park Recreation Center, 2300 Keith Bridge Road

·         Precinct 5- Coal Mountain: Coal Mountain Park Community Building, 3560 Settingdown Road

·         Precinct 6- Crossroads: Hampton Park Library, 5345 Settingdown Road

·         Precinct 7- Cumming: Cumming City Hall, 100 Main Street

·         Precinct 8- Mashburn: Lanier United Methodist Church, 1979 Buford Highway

·         Precinct 10- Midway: Midway Park Community Building, 5100 Post Road

·         Precinct 15- Heardsville: Sawnee Mountain Park Community Building, 3995 Watson Road

·         Precinct 16- Otwell: First Baptist, 1597 Sawnee Drive

·         Precinct 19- Old Atlanta: Olde Atlanta Clubhouse, 5745 Olde Atlanta Parkway

·         Precinct 21- South Forsyth: Sharon Springs Park Community Building, 1950 Sharon Road

·         Precinct 25- Windermere: Windermere Lodge, 4444 Front Nine Drive

·         Precinct 27- Concord: Concord Baptist Church, 6905 Concord Road           

·         Precinct 29- Polo: Grace Chapel Church Of Christ, 6755 Majors Road