By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Lambert, South headline volleyball ball awards
Pinecrest's Seiferth reels in accolade from Class A
SF ANugent 1 100916 web
Amanda Nugent was named Region 5-7A Offensive Player of the Year. She finished Thursday's championship match with 30 kills in a 3-2 win over rival Lambert at home. - photo by Micah Green

Lambert head coach Missey Hall and her daughter, Ally, headlined the volleyball region awards, chosen by coaches, that were announced Wednesday and Thursday.

Hall, in her fifth season as head coach, was named the Region 5-7A Coach of the Year after leading Lambert to a 26-10 regular season mark and 4-1 region record in 5-7A before the Lady Longhorns advanced to the region title against South Forsyth—the only team to defeat them in the regular season—Thursday evening.

Ally Hall earned 5-7A Freshman of the Year honors by leading the potent Longhorns in kills with 283 (3.3 per set) and was second on the team behind veteran Madeline Bertz with a .355 hitting percentage.

“It really blew me away,” Missey Hall said. “It was such an honor, so exciting. I was just excited for (Ally) and then I heard my name and was like, ‘woah, wait a minute.’ I’m super honored. I’m really humbled by it.”

South libero Erin Yeatman earned Player of the Year. The North Florida commit eclipsed 2,00 digs for her career on Sept. 28.

Yeatman's counterpart at Lambert, Jordyn Moellering, earned Defensive Player of the Year, while South's Amanda Nugent got Offensive Player of the Year just moments before recording her 1,500th career kill. 

Pinecrest also pulled in an accolade from the Class A ranks, as senior Adeline Seiferth won first-team all-area after leading the team in kills and hitting percentage.

The rest of the all-region teams are listed below:

Region 5-7A

First Team

Amanda Nugent, South Forsyth

Erin Yeatman, South Forsyth

Savian Jordan, South Forsyth

Jordyn Moellering, Lambert

Ally Hall, Lambert

Kendal Barrett, Lambert

Maddie Bryant, North Forsyth

Chloe Lance, West Forsyth

Natalie Miller, Milton

Second Team

Kylee Wagner, West Forsyth

Lily Kincaid, South Forsyth

Madeline Bertz, Lambert

Amanda Sinning, Lambert

Ava Crawford, Milton

Mallory Reed, Milton

Marin Black, North Forsyth

Maddie Palmer, North Forsyth

Abbey Riggins, West Forsyth

Honorable Mention

Avery Kline, South Forsyth

Emma Gore, Forsyth Central

Bri Gilbert, North Forsyth

Karsyn Hay, Milton

Hannah McGlockton, South Forsyth