By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Forsyth Central football lands Diebel, 10 others on All-Region 7-AAAAA teams
FC SDiebel1 110214 web
Forsyth Central junior running back Shaun Diebel's breakout season landed him on the All-Region 7-AAAAA first team as chosen by the region's coaches. - photo by Micah Green

Forsyth Central surprised just about everyone in the county, and in Region 7-AAAAA, with its 6-4 finish this season. The Bulldogs were rewarded with five players on the all-region first team, and six more on the second team.

Junior running back Shaun Diebel (1,370 rushing yards, 13 touchdowns) was the only Central offensive player to make the first team. Shane Williamson’s team rushed for more than 240 yards per game, and 27 of Central’s 30 offensive touchdowns were scored on the ground.

Defensive linemen Hunter Stephens (55 tackles, 10 tackles for loss, four sacks), a sophomore, and Pierce Nufer (10 sacks), a junior, were named to the first team. Senior linebacker Victor Peppers (73 tackles) and junior defensive back Robbie Repasz (51 tackles, four interceptions, fumble return touchdown) also earned first-team honors.

Central gave up less than 18 points per game and notched the school’s first shutout since 2011 in a 7-0 win over North Atlanta in October.

Three Bulldogs offensive linemen—all seniors—were named to the second team. Center David Allen (team-high 86 percent blocking grade), tackle Hunter Lamm (80 percent) and Liam Dalberg earned those honors after opening running lanes for Diebel and Sabrian Howard all season.

Junior defensive lineman Cameron Daube (four sacks, three fumble recoveries), sophomore linebacker Sebastian Legarra (73 tackles, interception) and senior defensive back Ryan Hintz (46 tackles, three interceptions) were picked by the region’s coaches to the second team defense.

The best news of all for Williamson and his staff: Diebel and six of Central’s seven all-region players on defense are slated to return for the 2015 season.