By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Saturday voting is May 12 for the primary election

Where, when to vote

Forsyth County Voter Registration and Elections Office

Through May 18, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

Saturday, May 12, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Hampton Park Library 

Midway Park Community Building 

Sharon Springs Park Community Building 

Saturday, May 12, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, May 14, 16 and 18, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday and Thursday, May 15 and 17, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.


In the primaries, voters will be able to decide their party’s candidates for seats at the county, state and federal levels for the Nov. 6 election. Voters living in the area of the proposed city of Sharon Springs will also vote on whether or not to add the new municipality in the primary.

The following local races will be contested in the primary:

• Republican candidate District 1 Commission: Molly Cooper and Dooz Owings

• Republican candidate District 1 Board of Education: Mark Weiss and Wes McCall

• Judge, State Court of Forsyth County: Incumbent Leslie Abernathy-Maddox and John Rife

• Republican candidate District 9 state Representative: Incumbent Kevin Tanner and Mark Hajduk 

• Republican candidate District 24 state Representative: Incumbent Sheri Gilligan and Joanna Cloud

• Republican candidate District 25 state Representative: Incumbent Todd Jones and Steven Grambergs 

• Republican candidate District 27 state Representative: Bill Fielder, Greg Dolezal and Brian Tam

• Republican candidate District 7 U.S. Representative: Incumbent Rob Woodall and Shane Hazel 

• Democratic candidate District 7 U.S. Representative: Carolyn Bourdeaux, David Kim, Ethan Pham, Kathleen Allen, Melissa Davis and Steve Reilly

• Democratic candidate District 9 U.S. Representative: Dave Cooper and Josh McCall

Party candidates for state offices, including governor and lieutenant governor, will also be decided in the primary.