By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Democrat Bourdeaux to challenge GOP Rep. Woodall
Carolyn Bourdeaux
Carolyn Bourdeaux.

The race for a Congressional seat representing Forsyth County has been set.

Democrat Carolyn Bourdeaux defeated opponent David Kim by a margin of 51.87 percent to 48.13 percent on Tuesday and will face District 7 incumbent Republican Rob Woodall in November.

“I am grateful for the support of the voters of the 7th and thank everyone who came out and participated in the primary and again in the runoff, no matter whom you supported,” said Bourdeaux in a statement. “In this primary, we have made enormous strides in bringing new people to the party and energizing Democrats in Gwinnett and Forsyth.”

Bourdeaux also won Forsyth County on Tuesday, earning 64.45 percent of votes, 1,300 votes, to Kim’s 35.55 percent. The runoff candidates were the top two vote-getters in the May primary, a race which consisted of six other candidates.

She said she is ready to take on a district known for its support of conservative candidates.

“Moving forward, our campaign and our movement will only continue to grow stronger. This is about bringing our communities together, people who believe in working together and creating positive change,” she said. “I am so thankful for all the support I’ve received thus far, and I cannot wait to continue campaigning and earn every vote until the general election.”

Bourdeaux is a supporter of comprehensive immigration reform, reducing carbon emissions in line with the Paris Climate Accord, comprehensive paid family leave and affordable healthcare through expanding Medicaid.

Bourdeaux is a native of Roanoke, Virginia and earned a Bachelor's from Yale, a Master’s in Public Administration from the University of Southern California, and a Ph.D. in public administration from Syracuse University.

She teaches at Georgia State University and was previously of the Georgia Senate Budget and Evaluation Office and as chair of National Association for Budgeting and Financial Management.