By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Forsyth County Schools receives 2019 Governance award
2019 Governance Team of the Year Award

The Georgia School Boards Association announced this week that the Forsyth County Board of Education has been selected as the winner of the 2019 Governance Team of the Year Award.

According to a press release, the 2019 Governance Team of the Year Award is presented annually to a Georgia public school district board of education and superintendent that has achieved “all-around success” in their district.

In a statement to the Forsyth County News on Thursday, Jennifer Caracciolo, Forsyth County Schools Director of Communications said that the system was honored to receive the award.

“We congratulate the other finalists for their significant accomplishments,” Caracciolo said. “The application and interview processes were excellent opportunities to assess where we have been and where we are headed to achieve quality learning and superior performance for all.”

Forsyth County was among nine finalists from other Georgia counties and was chosen by a panel of national experts after a “stringent” application process, the release said.

“We are so pleased to honor Forsyth County as the 2019 Governance Team of the Year,” Frank Griffin, GSBA president and chair of the Lee County Board of Education said in the release. “They have exemplified, through work and service, what a high functioning board of education and superintendent look like.”

Other finalists for the award included school districts in Bleckley, Columbia, Dade, Dawson, Effingham, Fayette and Oconee counties, and Jefferson City in Jackson County.