By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Sawnee Foundation awards $100,000 in scholarships to local students
Sawnee  Scholarship 2019
The Sawnee Electric Membership Foundation awarded 20 high school seniors with a $5,000 scholarship each.

The Sawnee Electric Membership Foundation recently awarded 20 high school seniors with a $5,000 scholarship each in support of its mission to support education in the areas served by Sawnee EMC.  

“The Youth Scholarship Program is a shining example of what the Foundation and Sawnee EMC are all about; which is their commitment to being a partner and supporter in the various communities Sawnee EMC serves.” said Blake House, vice president of Sawnee EMC’s Member Services. 

In the past 14 years, the Foundation has awarded $727,500 in scholarships to 187 high schools seniors within Sawnee EMC’s seven-county service area.

“Supporting those in need in our communities, and helping these outstanding students continue their education is a key part of meeting the Foundation’s core mission,” said Lacelle Doss, chairman of the foundation’s board.  

Questions about this program or the Sawnee Foundation can be found online at or call Cindy Badgett, director of external affairs for Sawnee EMC at (678) 455-1399 or via email at

Sawnee EMC Foundation scholarship recipients for 2019 are:

Katelyn Aquino, West Forsyth High School

Jake Bischoff, Chattahoochee High School

Sarah Cooksey, Dawson County High School

Gabriel Fulbright, Forsyth Central High School

Medha Guduru, South Forysth High School

Thomas Hughes, Forsyth Central High School

Natalie Kandul, Lambert High School

Eric Kraitman, West Forsyth High School

Geneve Lauby, Lambert High School

Bennett Mathis, Forsyth Central High School

Camryn McCran, Fideles Christian High School

Brent Miller, Alpharetta High School

Maanas Purushothap, Chattahoochee High School

Elifelet Sanchez-Espinosa, Chestatee High School

Katie Sardonia, Creekview High School

Melanie Smith, West Forsyth High School

Haley Tidd, Haley’s Home School

Jackson Trammell, Dawson County High School

Aimee Unger, North Forsyth High School

AnnaBelle Wallace, North Forsyth High School