By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Advance voting for runoff starts on Monday

Where, when to vote

Forsyth County Voter Registration and Elections Office

  • Weekdays July 2-20, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 14, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Hampton Park Library

Midway Park Community Building

Sharon Springs Park Community Building

  • Saturday, July 14, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, July 16, 18 and 20, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Tuesday and Thursday, July 17 and 19, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Before celebrating Independence Day, Forsyth County residents can exercise one of their most American rights.

Advance voting for the July 24 Republican and Democratic runoffs will begin on Monday at the Forsyth County Voter Registration and Elections Office. Voting will be held at that location for three weeks ahead of the election, except for July 4.

Hours for the elections office will be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekdays through July 20, except Saturday, July 14 when polls will be open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Starting on Saturday, July 14, and continuing the following week, July 16-20, polls will also be open at Hampton Park Library and the community buildings of Midway and Sharon Springs parks.

Due to state rules, those who previously voted for Republican or Democratic candidates in the primary will have to vote for the same party in the runoff. Those who voted non-partisan in the primary can vote for either party.

For those that didn’t vote in the primary, they can vote for either party if they registered before June 24. Those wanting to vote for Democrat had an extra day to register.

“Because of the federal deadlines, they extended the deadline for the federal office, for the seventh congressional,” said Barbara Luth, the county’s supervisor of registrations and elections.

Republican voters will vote on candidates for: governor, Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle and Secretary of State Brian Kemp; lieutenant governor, District 48 state Sen. David Shafer and former District 26 state Rep. Geoff Duncan; and secretary of state: District 50 state Rep. Brad Raffensperger and former Alpharetta Mayor David Belle Isle.

Those voting on the Democratic ballot will choose between Carolyn Bourdeaux and David Kim for the Democratic candidate for U.S. House District 7 and candidates Sid Chapman and Otha E. Horton, Jr. for state school superintendent.

Voters are required to bring valid photo ID. More information for voters is available at