By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
County to hold town hall on Sharon Springs
Sharon springs

Forsyth County is holding a town hall to get community input on a proposed south Forsyth city. 

At 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 27, a town hall will be held by Forsyth County at the Forsyth Conference Center at Lanier Technical College to discuss the proposed city of Sharon Springs in south Forsyth. 

According to a news release from the county, the meeting will let commissioners “hear from the public regarding the proposal to create the new city of Sharon Springs within Forsyth County.” Members of Forsyth County’s state delegation are also invited to attend.

The release stated the new city would make up about 30 percent of the county’s population. 

Last week, House Bill 626, which provides the process for creating the city, passed the Georgia House of Representatives by a vote of 159-3, with 12 members not voting and six excused. All members of the Forsyth County delegation voted in favor of the bill.

Forsyth County Commissioners also asked last week that parts of a proposed community improvement district in south Forsyth be removed from the area of the proposed city.

In October, a 12-member committee made up of representatives from across the county recommended allowing voters living in the area of the proposed city to vote on cityhood.

Only voters in the area of the proposed city will be able to vote, and the committee recommended the referendum must have the support of 57.5 percent — a compromise between a simple majority and two-thirds majority — of voters.

Before reaching voters, the bill will need to be approved by the Georgia General Assembly and signed by Gov. Nathan Deal. If passed, a referendum would be held in May.

The approximate boundaries of the proposed city are east of Ga. 400 except the portion west of McFarland Road, south of Hwy. 20 except for areas in the city of Cumming, west of the Chattahoochee River — already a boundary with Gwinnett County — and north of the Fulton County line.