By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Advance voting begins on Monday for primary election

Primary election season has come again to Forsyth County, and county residents will have the opportunity to cast their ballot early in the general primary, nonpartisan general election and special elections. 

Registered Forsyth County voters can cast ballots early from Monday, April 30 to May 18, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and on Saturday, May 12, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., according to a news release from the Forsyth County Government.

Barbara Luth, Forsyth County’s supervisor of voter registrations and elections, said that most things in the process have not changed; any registered Forsyth County voter can show up Monday morning with photo identification and cast a ballot, but the locations of where residents vote has changed. 

Where, when to vote

Forsyth County Voter Registration and Elections Office

April 30 to May 18, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

Saturday, May 12, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Hampton Park Library 

Midway Park Community Building 

Sharon Springs Park Community Building 

Saturday, May 12, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, May 14, 16 and 18, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday and Thursday, May 15 and 17, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

“We are no longer having advance voting at city hall, nor are we having it at the administration building,” Luth said. “People are probably used to going there, but they moved it all to our office which has better parking and bigger rooms.”  

Now, residents will go to the Forsyth County Voter Registration and Elections Office at 1201 Sawnee Drive in Cumming near the Forsyth County Magistrate Court Building to cast a vote, she said.

“We will be here for the first two weeks of advance voting,” Luth said. “Then, on Saturday, May 12 and the 14th through the 18th, we will be …  at Hampton Park Library, the Sharon Springs Park Community Building and Midway Park.”

She said that in addition to the Voter Registration and Elections Office, the three additional voting locations will be open for advance voting May 12 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; May 14, 16 and 18 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m; and May 15 and 17, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

In the primaries, voters will be able to decide their party’s candidates for seats at the county, state and federal levels for the Nov. 6 election. Voters living in the area of the proposed city of Sharon Springs will also vote on whether or not to add the new municipality in the primary.

The following local races will be contested in the primary:

• Republican candidate District 1 Commission: Molly Cooper and Dooz Owings

• Republican candidate District 1 Board of Education: Mark Weiss and Wes McCall

• Judge, State Court of Forsyth County: Incumbent Leslie Abernathy-Maddox and John Rife

• Republican candidate District 9 state Representative: Incumbent Kevin Tanner and Mark Hajduk 

• Republican candidate District 24 state Representative: Incumbent Sheri Gilligan and Joanna Cloud

• Republican candidate District 25 state Representative: Incumbent Todd Jones and Steven Grambergs 

• Republican candidate District 27 state Representative: Bill Fielder, Greg Dolezal and Brian Tam

• Republican candidate District 7 U.S. Representative: Incumbent Rob Woodall and Shane Hazel 

• Democratic candidate District 7 U.S. Representative: Carolyn Bourdeaux, David Kim, Ethan Pham, Kathleen Allen, Melissa Davis and Steve Reilly

• Democratic candidate District 9 U.S. Representative: Dave Cooper and Josh McCall

Party candidates for state offices, including governor and lieutenant governor, will also be decided in the primary.