By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Elections board OKs new precinct lines
The Forsyth County Board of Voter Registrations and Elections recently approved new boundary lines for the county's 20 election precincts. - photo by File photo/For the Forsyth County News

Before local voters head to the polls in 2020, they might want to make sure they know where they are registered.

At a called meeting Monday, the Forsyth County Board of Voter Registrations and Elections approved changes to precinct lines that will impact voters around the county, particularly those living between the city of Cumming and Lake Lanier.

The biggest change will impact 3,300 voters in the Cumming, Browns Bridge and Otwell districts due to changes made to precincts to better reflect the city of Cumming’s boundaries after recent annexations and road changes.

Areas south of Antioch Road and east of Ga. 400 will move from the Otwell precinct to Cumming.

The area west of 400 and south of Pilgrim Mill Road to Lake Lanier will move from Otwell to Browns Bridge.

Those changes will require voters to use a different polling place in 2020 than in previous years.

About 29 voters living in the area east of Sanders Road between Little Ridge Creek and Buford Dam Road will move from Otwell to Mashburn.

In north Forsyth, voters living east of 400, north of Keith Bridge Road and southwest of Martin Road will move from the Browns Bridge precinct to Coal Mountain, and about 29 voters will be impacted.

Another change in the area will move the boundary between the Chestatee and Crossroads precincts to Dawsonville Highway and Keith Bridge Roads, instead of near Old Keith Bridge Road. No voters will be impacted.

In west Forsyth, a change will clarify the boundary of the Polo and Midway precincts to follow Pittman Road past Bagley Stables Lane to Post Road. No voters will be impacted.

Earlier this year, the board approved four additional voting precincts and voting locations.

• Johns Creek Precinct (Johns Creek Baptist, 6910 McGinnis Ferry Road) out of the South Forsyth, Old Atlanta and Big Creek precincts;

• Sawnee Precinct (Hwy. 20 Operations Center, 1605 Canton Highway) out of the Otwell, Midway and Heardsville precincts;

• Fowler Precinct (Fowler Park, 4110 Carolene Way) out of the Brandywine and Polo precincts;

• Nichols Precinct (Old Atlanta Park, 810 Nichols Road) out of the South Forsyth Precinct.

Elections officials said while the precinct changes may mean voters cast ballots in a different place, it does not change who their elected officials are.

Local residents can find their voter information at under the “My Voter Information” tab.