By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Qualifying for 2020 election has started in Georgia. Here’s who has made the cut
FCN Voting stickers 113018

Update (5:50 p.m., March 3):  The second day of qualifying for local, state and federal elections saw several candidates throw their hats in the ring, including three new candidates for state House of Representatives District 9, candidates for the Forsyth County Board of Education and two candidates for the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners, including Chairwoman Laura Semanson.

Original story and updated list of candidates below


It was a busy first day of qualifying as 40 candidates Forsyth County voters can choose at the federal, state and local levels made their campaigns official.  

Locally, candidates for county commission, sheriff and board of education were among those who qualified for local races on Monday, with multiple candidates for Board of Education District 3 and coroner, setting up primary races.

At the federal level, both Senate seats have candidates with local ties as Libertarian Shane Hazel, a Forsyth County resident who previously ran for Georgia’s 7th Congressional District as a Republican, will run for the seat against Sen. David Perdue and Rep. Doug Collins, who represents Forsyth County and 19 other counties in northwest Georgia in-part or in-full, will run against Sen. Kelly Loeffler for the seat previously held by Johnny Isakson.

The races for both of Forsyth County’s Congressional seats – Districts 7 and 9 – are also expected to see a large amount of candidates as District 7 Rep. Rob Woodall is not seeking re-election and Collins is running for Senate.

Qualifying will remain open until Friday at noon for both nonpartisan and political party candidates will qualify for the general primary, which will be held on Tuesday, May 19 after three weeks of advance voting.

The general primary will consist of non-partisan races and selecting party candidates for the Nov. 3 general election. It should be noted that the Senate race for the seat held by Sen. Kelly Loeffler will be decided in November.

Here’s who has qualified for the races so far:

U.S. Senate

o   Sen. David Perdue (incumbent)- Republican

o   James Knox- Democratic

o   Teresa Tomlinson- Democratic

o   Shane Hazel- Libertarian

o  Brian Slowinski- Libertarian 

U.S. Senate

o   Sen. Kelly Loeffler (incumbent)- Republican

o   Doug Collins- Republican

o   Tamara Johnson-Shealey- Democratic

o   Richard Dien Winfield- Democratic

o   Allen Buckley- Independent

U.S. House of Representatives: District 7

o   Mark Gonsalves- Republican

o   Lynne Homrich- Republican

o   Renee Unterman- Republican

o   Carolyn Bourdeaux- Democratic

Rich McCormick- Republican 

U.S. House of Representatives: District 9

o   Michael Boggus- Republican

o   Andrew Clyde- Republican

o   Matt Gurtler- Republican

o   Maria Strickland- Republican

o   Kevin Tanner- Republican

o   Ethan Underwood- Republican

o  Devin Pandy- Democratic

State Senate: District 27

o   Brooke Griffiths- Democratic

State House: District 9

o   Clint Smith- Republican

o   Will Wade- Republican

o   Steve Leibel- Republican

o   Zach Tumlin- Republican

o   Sharon Ravert- Democrat

State House: District 22

o   Rep. Wes Cantrell (incumbent)- Republican

o   Charles Ravencraft- Democratic

State House: District 24

o   Rep. Sheri Gillian (incumbent)- Republican

o   Natalie Bucsko- Democratic  

State House: District 25

o   Todd Jones (incumbent)- Republican

o   Christa Olenczak- Democratic

State House: District 26

o   Lauren McDonald III- Republican

o   Jason Boskey- Democratic

Board of Education: District 3

o   Tom Cleveland (incumbent)- Republican

o   Barry S. Herrin- Republican

Board of Education: District 4

o   Darla Sexton Light- Republican

Board of Education: District 5

o   Lindsey Adams- Republican 

County Commissioner: District 2

o   Alfred John- Republican 

County Commissioner: District 4

o   Cindy Jones Mills (incumbent)- Republican

County Commissioner: District 5

o   Laura Semanson (incumbent)- Republican 


o   Ron H. Freeman (incumbent)- Republican


o   Paul W. Holbrook- Republican

o   Ted Paxton - Republican

Clerk of Superior Court

o   Greg G. Allen

Tax Commissioner

o   Matthew C. Ledbetter

Chief Magistrate

o   Walker H. Bramblett

Chief Judge, State Court of Forsyth County

o   T. Russell McClelland III