By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Dawgs nab sub-region awards
Five Central players named to 7A-AAAAA first team
Sports WEB
Junior quarterback Michael Branigan was one of five Forsyth Central players named to the All-Region 7A-AAAAA first team. Branigan compiled 1,778 all-purpose yards and 11 touchdowns this season. - photo by File photo

Region 7A-AAAAA football coaches selected 30 players to the all-subregion first team, including five Forsyth Central athletes.

An additional 26 players were chosen to the Region 7A-AAAAA second team and 13 more were named honorable mention.

Top honors went to Sequoyah running back Blake Ingleton (Offensive Player of the Year), Creekview defensive lineman Austin Weaver (Defensive Player of the Year) and Creekview head coach Al Morrell (Coach of the Year).

Central was represented on the first team offense by quarterback Michael Branigan and kicker Anel Ramic, both juniors, along with offensive linemen Victor Peppers, a junior, and Hunter Lamm, a sophomore. Junior defensive back Jack Longmore was the lone Central player named to the first team defense.

Branigan racked up 1,778 all-purpose yards and 11 touchdowns for the Bulldogs in his first season under center, including 870 rushing yards.

Much of Branigan’s production came with the help of Peppers and Lamm, who both played every snap for the Bulldogs this season. Peppers graded at 92 percent for the season and finished with 38 knockdowns, while Lamm graded at 88 percent and recorded 35 knockdowns.

Ramic put 90 percent of the Bulldogs’ kickoffs in the end zone and Longmore recorded 62 solo tackles and five tackles for loss, in addition to a fumble recovery and an interception.

Five Bulldogs, all juniors, made the all-subregion second team. Running backs C.J. Cochran, Jake Gorczyca and wide receiver Jeremiah Jones were named to the offense, while lineman Adam Maresco and linebacker Jordan Schaller were selected to the defensive unit.

Offensive linemen Dee Kelley, a junior, and Jacob Maraffi, a sophomore, represented the Bulldogs on the honorable mention list.