By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Football: 13 Pinecrest Academy players named to All-Region 6-1A South team
PA CDownes 121416 web
Pinecrest Academy senior defensive back Corey Downes was one of six Paladins players selected first team All-Region 6-1A South. - photo by File photo

Pinecrest Academy had 13 players selected to the All-Region 6-1A South football team, including six on the first team, as chosen by the region’s head coaches.

Paladins running back Brooks Binkley and offensive lineman Stone Brown and Garrison Winter were each named to the first team offense, while linebacker Ryan McCarthy and defensive backs Corey Downes and Carson Holler were selected to the first team defense.

Binkley, a junior, rushed for 625 yards and two touchdowns on 147 carries with the help of Brown, a sophomore who graded out at 80 percent with 77 pancake blocks, and Winter, a senior, who graded out at 92 percent with 85 pancake blocks.

McCarthy had 59 tackles including 4.5 for losses with two pass deflections and a forced fumble. Downes had a Forsyth County-best eight interceptions along with 36 tackles, two pass deflections and one forced fumble, while Holler had a team-high 75 tackles including 1.5 for losses with three pass deflections, two interceptions, one recovered fumble and one blocked field goal.

McCarthy was also a second team selection, at quarterback, as was running back Michael Birozes and defensive lineman Nolan Stafford.

Offensive lineman Alan Yadav, defensive lineman Wills Brown, linebackers Addison Ehle and Hunter Hawk and defensive back Daniel Duke were honorable mention selections for Pinecrest.

All-Region 6-1A South Football Team

Offensive Player of the Year: QB Jack Hardin, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year: Jackson Reese, Mount Paran, Jr.

Lineman of the Year: Tad Aycock, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Al Morrell, Fellowship Christian


First team

QB Jacob Cendoya, Mount Pisgah, Jr.

RB Brooks Binkley, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

RB Andrew Johnson, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

RB Andrew Minkert, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

WR Ryan Reid, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

WR Kai Williams, Mount Pisgah, Jr.

WR David Woodward, Mount Pisgah, Jr.

TE Brady Scott, Mount Paran, Sr.

OL Kyle Brown, King’s Ridge, Sr.

OL Stone Brown, Pinecrest Academy, Soph.

OL Jackson Kreikeimier, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

OL Hunter Nourzad, Walker, Jr.

OL Carter Smith, Mount Paran, Sr.

OL James Snavely, Walker, Jr.

OL Garrison Winter, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

ATH Robert Jones, St. Francis, Soph.

ATH Trevor Lewis, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

Second team

QB Ryan McCarthy, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

RB Jack Allen, Mount Paran, Soph.

RB Michael Birozes, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

RB Willie Fulks, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

RB Merrick Haigler, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

RB Lawson Hill, King’s Ridge, Sr.

WR Coby Gregory, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

WR Jack McHugh, King’s Ridge, Sr.

WR Nathaniel Raeder, Mount Paran, Jr.

OL Parker Bishop, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

OL Parker Lefton, King’s Ridge, Jr.

OL Coleman Miller, Whitefield Academy, Jr.

OL Jonathan Pittman, St. Francis, Fr.

OL Matthew Ramsey, Mount Paran, Sr.

OL Mason Russell, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

OL Davis Shaw, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

ATH Hayden Milling, King’s Ridge, Jr.


First team

DL Jack Geier, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

DL Konner Henkle, Mount Paran, Jr.

DL Jake Lewis, Whitefield Academy, Jr.

DL Billy McCurry, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

DL Emmett Taliaferro, Mount Paran, Sr.

LB Orion Caldwell, King’s Ridge, Sr.

LB Carter Isaacs, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

LB Ryan McCarthy, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

LB Trey Robinson, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

DB Corey Downes, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

DB Chip Goldsmith, Whitefield Academy, Jr.

DB Carson Holler, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

DB Bo Stallings, Mount Paran, Jr.

DB Joshua Stallworth, King’s Ridge, Jr.

Second team

DL Kaleb Harris, King’s Ridge, Soph.

DL Ryan Louis, Walker, Sr.

DL Ethan Minkert, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

DL Zach Murray, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

DL Sean Paradise, St. Francis, Soph.

DL Nolan Stafford, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

LB Matt Curry, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

LB Sam Hines, St. Francis, Fr.

LB Matt Morton, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

LB Thomas Rath, Walker, Jr.

LB Jordan Saibu, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

DB Kaleb brooks, Whitefield Academy, Soph.

DB Connor Coolbroth, Walker, Sr.

DB Cam Gill, Fellowship Christian, Soph.

DB Holt Shannon, Mount Paran, Sr.

DB Jake Wilson, Mount Paran, Soph.

Special teams

Second team

PK Alex Hardie, Walker, Sr.

P Jackson McLarty, Mount Paran, Sr.

LS Charlie Thompson, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

Second team

PK Garret Depew, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

PK William Hellier, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

P Matt Davis, St. Francis, Sr.

Honorable mention

Fellowship Christian: PK John Consoli, Sr.; LB Chase Chorcoran, Sr.; DB James Milholin, Jr.

King’s Ridge: DB Christopher Bobo, Sr.; OL Phillip Trainor, Jr.; LB Carter Buchanan, Jr.; LB Reid Oglesby, Jr.; SN Parker Lefton, Jr.

Mount Paran: QB Jared Knox, Sr.; OL Ben Locke, Jr.; RB Chandler Webber, Jr.; OL Landin Jackson, Soph.; DL Dryden Lewis, Sr.; LB Mikey Guelfo, Sr.; DB Davis Stephens, Jr.

Mount Pisgah: OL Jase Cowart, Sr.; OL Chad Peden, Jr.; DL Noah West, Jr.; LB Thomas McGee, Sr.; WR Price Brazzel, Sr.; RB Trey Murphy, Jr.

Pinecrest Academy: DB Daniel Duke, Sr.; OL Alan Yadav, Sr.; LB Addison Ehle, Sr.; LB Hunter Hawk, Fr.; DL Wills Brown, Sr.

St. Francis: OL Darron Willis, Fr.; WR Isaiah Wadsworth, Fr.; OL Matt Margow, Sr.; LB Caleb Cesair, Sr.; LB Arron Strozier, Soph.

Walker: DL Jay Hajost, Jr.l WR JT Reinchenbach, Sr.; LB Carl Grinstaff, Jr.; DB Lake Boyer, Soph.; DB Jason Brock, Jr.

Whitefield Academy: PK/P Matthew Sumlin, Soph.; LB Thomas Joiner, Jr.; LB Jalen Miller, Jr.; TE Jimmy McCarthy, Sr.; DL Kyle Holt, Soph.