State of emergency extended, but moves made to reopen bars, bring back sports
The new executive order loosens restrictions on public gatherings and made moves to reopen bars, bring back professional sports.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Football: Nine from Pinecrest honored on All-Region team
Bryce Balthaser
Pinecrest quarterback Bryce Balthaser runs past an Athens Christian defender a 34-13 loss. - photo by David Roberts

The All-Region 6-1A Private football team was announced Thursday, with nine players representing Pinecrest. 

Senior Sawyer Huffstetler was named first-team all-purpose as well as a first-team defensive back for the Paladins. Senior wide receiver Ethan Massey and sophomore offensive lineman Michael Soukoup were named first-team offense, while senior linebacker Joey Kiernan was named first-team defense and senior Peter Haynes earned first-team special teams. 

Haynes was also named honorable mention. 

The Paladins had three players named second-team offense: juniors Bryce Balthaser and Tony Novo, and senior Billy Bear. Sophomore Colin Brown  was named second-team special teams. 

The All-Region 6-1A Private football team was determined by region coaches.

Region 6-1A Private - South

Player of the year: QB Niko Vangarelli, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

Offensive player of the year: RB Murphy Reeves, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

Defensive player of the year: LB Jaquez Dew, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

Lineman of the year: Nick Jackson, Mount Pisgah Christian, Jr.

Coach of the year: Al Morrell, Fellowship Christian

First-team offense

QB - Josh Gil, Saint Francis, Sr.

RB - Kylan Smith, Saint Francis, Sr.

RB - Keon Smart, Walker, Jr.

FB - Jayven Hall, Fellowship Christian, Fr.

WR - Jake Tasman, Walker, Sr.

WR - Bryce Davis, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

WR - Ethan Massey, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

WR - Garrett Sutherland, Mount Pisgah Christian, Jr.

WR - Sebastian Moss, Mount Paran Christian, Jr.

TE - Jackson Manning, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

TE - Brady Niblock, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

AP - Zay Wadsworth, Saint Francis, Sr.

AP - Sawyer Huffstetler, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

OL - Kyle Keegan, Walker, Sr.

OL - Charlie Patterson, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

OL - Reid Robinson, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

OL - Michael Soukup, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

OL - James Wickline, Mount Pisgah Christian, Sr.

OL - Peyton Newcomb, Saint Francis, Sr.

OL - Peyton Mahon, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

First-team defense

DL - Walker Smith, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

DL - Darron Willis, Saint Francis, Sr.

DL - Troy Beasley, Saint Francis, Sr.

DL - Freddy Coleman, Mount Paran Christian, Jr.

DL - Joey Archer, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

LB - Tate Harrison, Walker, Jr.

LB - Nathan Nardone, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

LB - Kyle Elphick, Fellowship Christian, Fr.

LB - Joey Kiernan, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

LB - Micah Gay, Mount Pisgah Christian, Jr.

LB - Hunter Jones, Saint Francis, Sr.

DB - Josh Cole, Fellowship Christian, So.

DB - Eric Little, Whitefield Academy, Jr.

DB - Myles Redding, Whitefield Academy, Jr.

DB - Sawyer Huffstetler, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

DB - Tristen Fryer, Mount Pisgah Christian, Sr.

DB - Zay Wadsworth, Saint Francis, Sr.

DB - Matthew Moore, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

First-team special teams

PK - Payton Broadus, Mount Pisgah Christian, Sr.

P - Bryce Paul, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

LS - David Bertrand, Mount Pisgah Christian, Jr.

LS - Peter Haynes, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

Second-team offense

QB - Bryce Balthaser, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

QB - Coleman Smith, Mount Pisgah Christian, Jr.

RB - Tony Novo, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

FB - Alex Lee, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

WR - Alex Belin, Saint Francis, Sr.

WR - Jordan Brewer, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

WR - Jai Smith, Saint Francis, Sr.

WR - Omar Cooper, Walker, Sr.

AP - Justin Tinch, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

OL - Graham Ashby, Walker, Sr.

OL - Brett Eppinger, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

OL - Andrew Jordan, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

OL - Cole Long, Whitefield Academy, So.

OL - Billy Bear, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

OL - Everett Gansereit, Mount Pisgah Christian, Jr.

OL - Will Hutchinson, Mount Paran Christian, Jr.

Second-team defense

DL - Nick Addison, Walker, Jr.

DL - Ian Geffrard, Whitefield Academy, Fr.

DL - Ben Rogers, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

DL - Cole Spence, Mount Pisgah Christian, So.

DL - Ephraim Agberien, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

DL - Austin Lake, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

LB - Cam Baker, Walker, Sr.

LB - Trexton Lewis, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

LB - Blake Scott, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

LB - Jaden Griffith, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

LB - Gianni Dorsey, Saint Francis, Jr.

LB - Jordan Mosby, Mount Paran Christian, Jr.

DB - Garret Hauenstein, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

DB - Makael Carter, Mount Pisgah Christian, Fr.

DB - Marcellus Hazelton, Saint Francis, Jr.

DB - Brandon Strozier, Saint Francis, Fr.

DB - Luciano Corpora Ellis, Mount Paran Christian, So.

DB - Jett Allen, Mount Paran Christian, Jr.

Second-team special teams

PK - Jake Heintzelman, Saint Francis, Jr.

PK - Parker Rostowsky, Mount Paran Christian, Sr.

P - Owen Lindsay, Mount Pisgah Christian, Jr.

P - Colin Brown, Pinecrest Academy, So.

Honorable mention: Fellowship Christian - DB Micheal Washburne, Jr.; DL Cole Chapman, Jr.; LB Lawson Haigler, Jr.; QB Eli Hildebrandt, Jr.; King's Ridge Christian - QB Braxton Chadwick, Sr.; Mount Paran Christian - DB Jake Williams, Sr.; DE Evan Warren, So., LB Dawson Smith, Jr.; DL Lincoln Broadnax, Fr.; Mount Pisgah Christian - LB Happy Chane; WR Brad Spence; OL Aaron Cruse; Tyler Hunnicut, Fr.; Pinecrest Academy - OL Peter Haynes, Sr.; St. Francis - LB Jackson Westmoreland, Fr.; OL Elias Coy, Fr.; DL Jabriel Muhammad, Fr.; Walker - QB Charlie Condon, Jr.; LB Jackson Kraal, So.; OL Thomas Stovall, Jr.; OL Jimmy Novak, Jr.; LB Carson Coburn, Sr.; Whitefield Academy - Justin Tinch, Sr., DL Cole Long, So.