By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Pinecrest Academy's McCarthy, Winter nab top awards on All-Region 6-A football team
Pinecrest Academy quarterback Ryan McCarthy was named the Region 6-A co-offensive player of the year while the Paladins' Todd Winter was selected coach of the year. - photo by File photos

After Pinecrest Academy football had its best season since joining the Georgia High School Association, winning the Region 6-A championship and advancing to the quarterfinals of the Class A private school playoffs, the Paladins seemed to have earned some respect from region opponents.

Quarterback Ryan McCarthy was selected co-offensive player of the year and Todd Winter was named coach of the year by Region 6-A coaches Wednesday as the Paladins placed nine players total were selected first-team all-region.

Directing Pinecrest’s triple option offense, McCarthy rushed for 1,284 yards and 22 touchdowns on 168 carries and completed 27 of 71 passes for 495 yards and three touchdowns with just one interception.

Winter guided the Paladins to a 10-2 record and Region 6-A championship that included a 28-21 victory against then No. 1-ranked and defending state champion Mount Paran. The Paladins lost to Stratford Academy in the quarterfinals of the state playoffs.

McCarthy, running back Greg Varghese and offensive lineman Stone Brown, Garrison Winter and Alan Yadav made the first team offense, while defensive lineman Will Brown, linebacker Peter Nelson and defensive backs Carson Holler and Mitchell Ojeda were selected to the first team defense.

Pinecrest had four more players named to the second team in running back Michael Birozes, defensive lineman Nolan Stafford, linebacker Will Patota and defensive back Corey Downes. Linebacker Brooks Binkley was an honorable mention selection.

All-Region 6-A South Team

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Ryan McCarthy, Pinecrest Academy; Taylor Trammell, Mount Paran

Defensive Player of the Year: Malik Martin, Trion

Lineman of the Year: Reid Kroeber, Fellowship Christian

Coach of the Year: Todd Winter, Pinecrest Academy


First team

QB Ryan McCarthy, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

RB Andrew Johnson, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

RB Avery Showell, Saint Francis, Jr.

RB Greg Varghese, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

WR Creighton Buchanan, King’s Ridge, Sr.

WR Conner Richey, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

OL Pat Ainsworth, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

OL Tad Aycock, Fellowship Christian, Soph.

OL Stone Brown, Pinecrest Academy, Fr.

OL Conner Caffrey, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

OL Reid Kroeber, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

OL Alex Meredith, Saint Francis, Sr.

OL Garrison Winter, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

OL Alan Yadav, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

ATH Kai Williams, Mount Pisgah, Soph.

Second team

QB Jacob Cendoya, Mount Pisgah, Soph.

RB Michael Birozes, Pinecrest Academy, Soph.

RB Jordan Edge, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

RB Jordan Ferguson, Saint Francis, Jr.

RB Tyler Matheson, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

WR Jacob Greene, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

WR Justin Gilvin, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

OL Garrett Brasher, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

OL Nic Bernier, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

OL Connor Mediate, Saint Francis, Sr.

OL Ty McLemore, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

OL Davis Shaw, Fellowship Christian, Soph.

ATH Jordan Greer, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

ATH Lawson Hill, King’s Ridge, Jr.


First team

DL Will Brown, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

DL TJ Carter, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

DL Jack Geier, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

DL Michael Grier, Saint Francis, Jr.

LB Dayrian Basco, Saint Francis, Sr.

LB JR Cendoya, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

LB Orion Caldwell, King’s Ridge, Jr.

LB Cameron Jenkins, Whitefield Academy, Sr.

LB Max Miller, Mount Pisgah, Jr.

LB Peter Nelson, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

LB Nick Thompson, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

DB Jacob Greene, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

DB Jack Hardin, Fellowship Christian, Jr.

DB Carson Holler, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

DB Mitchel Ojeda, Pinecrest Academy, Sr.

Second team

DL Kyle Holt, Whitefield Academy, Fr.

DL Wyatt McMahon, King’s Ridge, Jr.

DL Nikhil Sharma, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

DL Nolan Stafford, Pinecrest Academy, Soph.

LB Clay Buckweitz, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

LB Jonathan Gigia, Mount Pisgah, Soph.

LB Will Patota, Pinecrest Academy, Soph.

LB Zac Wanamaker, Saint Francis, Sr.

DB Jacob Davis, Saint Francis, Sr.

DB Corey Downes, Pinecrest Academy, Jr.

DB Alden Pascucci, Mount Pisgah, Jr.

DB Jordan Saibu, Whitefield Academy, Jr.

DB Anthony Showell, Saint Francis, Sr.

DB David Woodard, Mount Pisgah, Soph.


First team

K Jake Williamson, Fellowship Christian, Sr.

P Chase Clark, Mount Pisgah, Sr.

LS Parker Lefton, King’s Ridge, Soph.

Second team

K William Hellier, Whitefield Academy, Jr.

P Luke Miltner, Whitefield Academy, Sr.