By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Soccer: Pinecrest senior Kane named area Player of the Year
Pinecrest Academy's Brendan Kane heads the ball during a game against Whitefield Academy in 2018. - photo by Ben Hendren

Pinecrest senior Brendan Kane was named the Class 1A Private Area 8 Player of the Year on Tuesday as area coaches announced postseason awards.

Kane served as a key defender for the Paladins, helping the Pinecrest's boys soccer team to a 6-2 overall record and plus-14 goal differential. Pinecrest, which was named area co-champion along with Wesleyan School, was 2-0 in area play before the season was canceled, including shutout wins against Providence Christian and Hebron Christian. 

Head coach Dom Martelli split coach of the year honors with Wesleyan School head coach Billy Coxhead.

Kane is one of seven All-Area selections for the Paladins, joining Jake Lair, Colin Brown, Nicolas Martelli and Evan Kane on the first team. 

Jack Morrissey and Arturo Mungia were named to the second team.

Pinecrest's girls soccer team saw six All-Area selections, highlighted by Sarah Brown, Ivey Crain and Sofia Alvarez Del Pino on the first team. 

Allie Doerr, Grace Fowler and Kate Prados earned second-team honors.

Pinecrest's girls soccer team finished 5-3 overall, splitting their two region matches. The Paladins raced past Providence Christian 7-0 before falling to Hebron Christian 3-2. In all, Pinecrest's girls tallied 40 goals this season.

Boys Area Co-Champions: Pinecrest Academy and Wesleyan School

Player of the Year: Brendan Kane, defender, Pinecrest Academy

Co-Coaches of the Year: Dom Martelli, Pinecrest Academy and Billy Coxhead, Wesleyan School

Boys First Team All-Area

Jake Lair, forward, Pinecrest Academy

Jake Redman, forward, Hebron Christian

Luke Bradberry, midfield, Providence Christian

Colin Brown, midfield, Pinecrest Academy

Jonathan Lopez, midfield, Wesleyan School

Nicolas Martelli, midfield, Pinecrest Academy

Javy Martinez, midfield, Wesleyan School

Joseph Moussakhani, midfield, Providence Christian

Jack Goldschmidt, defender, Hebron Christian

Brendan Kane, defender, Pinecrest Academy

Evan Kane, goalkeeper, Pinecrest Academy

Boys Second Team All-Area

Cayden Boyt, forward, Hebron Christian

Charlie Jacob, forward, Hebron Christian

Sammy Johnson, forward, Wesleyan School

Arturo Mungia, forward, Pinecrest Academy

August Larson, midfield, Providence Christian

Jones Martin, midfield, Hebron Christian

Alex Cardile, defender, Wesleyan School

Julian Fernandez, defender, Wesleyan School

Glenn Fleming, defender, Providence Christian

Jack Morrissey, defender, Pinecrest Academy

Aidan Kresl, goalkeeper, Wesleyan School

Jered Miller, goalkeeper, Hebron Christian

Girls Area Champion: Hebron Christian

Player of the Year: Annie Garner, goalkeeper, Hebron Christian

Coach of the Year: Russell Aguirre, Hebron Christian

Girls First Team All-Area

Ivey Crain, forward, Pinecrest Academy

Emma Martin, forward, Hebron Christian

Lucy Mitchell, forward, Wesleyan School

Makayla Postma, forward, Providence Christian

Ashley Allen, midfield, Hebron Christian

Sofia Alvarez Del Pino, midfield, Pinecrest Academy

Jadyn Steele, midfield, Hebron Christian

Lilly Tapp, midfielder, Wesleyan School

Ashley Binney, defender, Wesleyan School

Sarah Brown, defender, Pinecrest Academy

Annie Garner, goalkeeper, Hebron Christian

Girls Second Team All-Area

Allie Doerr, forward, Pinecrest Academy

Grace Fowler, midfield, Pinecrest Academy

Cady Triplett, midfield, Wesleyan School

Brooke Browning, defender, Hebron Christian

Ansley Larson, defender, Providence Christian

Addie Martin, defender, Hebron Christian

Lindsey Suits, defender, Wesleyan School

Leila Moss, goalkeeper, Providence Christian

Kate Prados, goalkeeper, Pinecrest Academy