By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
State honors Forsyth County Sheriffs deputies in courthouse shooting
Among those taking part in the ceremony Thursday at the Georgia Capitol were from left, Sgt. Kenny Hughes, Communications Officer Ginger Adams, Deputy Daniel Rush, Sheriff Duane K. Piper, Sen. Michael Williams, Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle and Deputy Bobby Francis. - photo by For the Forsyth County News

ATLANTA —A state Senate resolution sponsored by a local lawmaker commends 14 deputies for their actions in response to the June attack on the Forsyth County Courthouse.

SR 265, passed Wednesday in the Georgia General Assembly, was sponsored by District 27 state Sen. Michael Williams of Forsyth County and Sen. Steve Gooch of Dahlonega, whose 51st District covers Forsyth’s  northeast corner, as well as Sens. Mike Crane, John Wilkinson, Tyler Harper and Charlie Bethel.

“The officers of the Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office are true heroes,” Williams said. “They put their own personal safety aside to protect the individuals at the courthouse, and their actions are well deserving of recognition and honor.

“I want to thank the officers for their bravery and commitment to public safety. Their actions will not be forgotten.”

On June 6, Dennis Marx drove a vehicle onto the front lawn of the courthouse in an attempt to force his way inside. Marx was armed with several firearms and explosives.

Deputy Daniel Rush was the first person to encounter Marx. He was shot in the leg while attempting to stop him from entering the courthouse.

Deputies Bobby Francis and Brian Chatham were honored for giving lifesaving aid to Rush and evacuating him from the area.

Lt. Matt Allen helped stop Marx and evacuate Rush, while Cpl. Matt Scott applied a tourniquet to Rush’s leg.

Deputies Pat Sternik, James White, Brian Dublin and Bill Keeton were honored for their aid in returning fire against Marx from inside the courthouse, while Deputies William Mouret and Robin Regan, Lt. Sebastian Strano and Sgt. Kenny Hughes returned fire from outside of the building.

Lt. James Poe was recognized for his “exemplary leadership by controlling the active scene on the courthouse lawn during the shooting.”

Sheriff Duane K. Piper, Chief Deputy Michael Giordano, Forsyth County 911 Center Director Pat Giordano and Communications Officer Ginger Adams were also at the Capitol on Thursday.

“I’m very appreciative that both the House and the Senate took time to do a resolution honoring our deputies and what they did for our community,” Piper said.