By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Here are the 38 teachers of the year in Forsyth County Schools

Forsyth County school officials recently announced the teachers of the year at its elementary, middle and high schools.

The 38 honorees will be narrowed down to 19 semi-finalists on Nov. 26 – 10 elementary, five middle and four from high school. Seven finalists – three elementary, two middle and two from high school – will get surprise visits from Feb. 4-8 to announce their selection.

The overall teacher of the year will be announced at the school system’s “Celebration of Excellence” luncheon on Friday, March 8. Last year’s winner was Jonas Strecker, a German teacher at South Forsyth High School.

Elementary schools

Big Creek – Jacklyn Manton

Brandywine – Amy Carney

Brookwood – Julie Philmon

Chattahoochee – Ryan Campbell

Chestatee – Emily Flack

Coal Mountain – Kara Hannah

Cumming – Jenny McClain

Daves Creek – Carole Haich

Haw Creek – Melissa Keel

Johns Creek – Penny La Rocca

Kelly Mill – Nikki Erdely

Mashburn – Kimmie Heglin

Matt – Rhonda Slaughter

Midway – Stacie Jassen

Sawnee – Kay Everett

Settles Bridge – Kara Folsom 

Sharon – Wendy Wing

Shiloh Point – Patricia Cox

Silver City – Jackie Shirley

Vickery Creek – Rachel Ashworth

Whitlow – Jessica Nicholson

Middle schools  

DeSana – Christian Bigliani

Lakeside – DeAnna Hill

Liberty – Joe Wilson

Little Mill – Aimee Brooks

North Forsyth – Donna Jackson

Otwell – Tony Jones

Piney Grove – Beth Binns

Riverwatch – Trey Frilot

South Forsyth – Kim Schreier

Vickery Creek – Wendy Chafin

High schools

Alliance Academy of Innovation – Hector Jimenez

Denmark – Angie Mitchell

Forsyth Central – Jennifer Garner

Lambert – Tiffany Aikens

North Forsyth – Amy Dykes

South Forsyth – Julie Hunt

West Forsyth – Mary Beth Rush