By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Football: Coaches release All-Region 5-7A team
North Forsyth quarterback Ben Bales makes a pass in a game against Johns Creek on Aug. 25, 2017. - photo by Brian Paglia

Forsyth County crowded the major all-Region 5-7A football awards that were released Friday.

North Forsyth’s Ben Bales and Lambert’s Marcus Chatelain were named Co-Offensive Player of the Year, South Forsyth’s Ryan LaFlamme shared Defensive Player of the Year with Milton’s Justin Blanks, West Forsyth’s Cade Vela was named Athlete of the Year while South Forsyth’s Jeff Arnette was selected Coach of the Year.

Lambert running back Marcus Chatelain goes to stiff arm Milton's Lucas Moore on Friday, Oct. 27, 2017. /// Photo by Ben Hendren

Bales, a senior quarterback, completed 59.3 percent of his passes for 3,024 yards with 24 touchdowns and 15 interceptions to help the Raiders go 5-6 and reach the state playoffs for the first time since 2013. Chatelain, a senior running back, rushed for 1,283 yards and 14 touchdowns on 204 carries for the Longhorns.

South Forsyth’s Ryan LaFlamme, center, reacts after one of his 3.5 sacks Friday, Aug. 18, 2017 against Roswell in the Corky Kell Classic at Georgia State Stadium. - photo by Micah Green

LaFlamme, a senior defensive end, had 55 tackles including 26 for losses with 12.5 sacks to help South go 9-2 and win its second region title in three seasons.

West Forsyth's Cade Vela intercepts a pass against Woodstock on Friday, Aug. 18, 2017.

Vela, a senior defensive back and running back, had 85 tackles and four interceptions on defense and 328 rushing and 185 receiving yards with five total touchdowns on offense.

South Forsyth football coach Jeff Arnette, left, laughs during a back-and-forth with the media at the 2017 Forsyth County Media Day Wednesday, July 26. - photo by Micah Green

Arnette, in his eighth season at South, led the War Eagles the school’s third region title in school history.

All-Region 5-7A Football Team

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Ben Bales, North Forsyth, Sr., QB; Marcus Chatelain, Lambert, Sr., RB

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Justin Blanks, Milton, Sr., DL; Ryan LaFlamme, South Forsyth, Sr., DL

Athlete of the Year: Cade Vela, West Forsyth, Sr., DB/RB

Coach of the Year: Jeff Arnette, South Forsyth



QB – Jordan Yates, Milton, Jr.

RB – Jared Honey, South Forsyth, Sr.

RB – Solomon Vanhorse, Milton, Sr.

WR – Justin Bruno, Lambert, Sr.

WR – Ze’Vian Capers, South Forsyth, Soph.

WR – Nicky DalMolin, North Forsyth, Soph.

WR – Dash Hairston, Milton, Sr.

WR – Cedric Touchstone, North Forsyth, Sr.

TE – Ben Bresnahan, West Forsyth, Sr.

OL – Blake Anderson, West Forsyth, Sr.

OL – Briggs Hutcheson, South Forsyth, Sr.

OL – Jeremy James, North Forsyth, Jr.

OL – Jordan Nelson, South Forsyth, Sr.

OL – Matt Olson, Forsyth Central, Sr.

OL – Sean Warren, Lambert, Sr.

OL – Blake Watson, Milton, Sr.

ATH – Zach Burns, West Forsyth, Sr.


DL – London Best, Milton, Sr.

DL – Jamal Camp, South Forsyth, Jr.

DL – Will Chavarria, North Forsyth, Sr.

DL – Ian Hunt, South Forsyth, Sr.

DL – Juan Uribe, Milton, Sr.

LB – George Coyle, Milton, Sr.

LB – Jordan Davis, Milton, Sr.

LB – Robert Faulkner, North Forsyth, Sr.

LB – Jackson Leak, Forsyth Central, Jr.

LB – Jack Pehrson, South Forsyth, Jr.

DB – Abraham Camara, West Forsyth, Jr.

DB – Joe Charleston, Milton, Jr.

DB – Myles Ellis, South Forsyth, Sr.

DB – Landon Sims, South Forsyth, Jr.

DB – Honus Wagner, North Forsyth, Jr.

DB – Jake Wilson, South Forsyth, Sr.

Special teams

K – Alex Hardy, South Forsyth, Sr.

P – Bryce Christensen, Lambert, Sr.

LS – Payton Dunagan, West Forsyth, Sr.

RET – D.J. Albright, Milton, Sr.



QB – Cal Morris, South Forsyth, Sr.

RB – Devron Ordan, Forsyth Central, Sr.

RB – Bryson Trigg, North Forsyth, Jr.

WR – Charlie Aiken, North Forsyth, Jr.

WR – Mark Heard, Forsyth Central, Sr.

WR – Christian Neubert, Forsyth Central, Sr.

WR – Ryan Pontrelli, South Forsyth, Sr.

TE – Alex Snyder, Lambert, Sr.

OL – Bryce Chason, Lambert, Sr.

OL – Gabe Cleveland, South Forsyth, Sr.

OL – Daniel Espinoza, North Forsyth, Sr.

OL – D.J. Jordan, Milton, Sr.

OL – Bryce Malone, Forsyth Central, Jr.

OL – Austin Paden, Milton, Sr.

OL – Nate Thompson, Milton, Sr.

ATH – Syaire Waters, Milton, Jr.


DL – David Carillo, West Forsyth, Jr.

DL – Cade Jensen, North Forsyth, Jr.

DL – Mahkari Sibblis, West Forsyth, Jr.

DL – David Standeven, Lambert, Sr.

DL – Alex Szakas, Forsyth Central, Soph.

LB – Will Kohlins, Lambert, Sr.

LB – Michael Miller, Forsyth Central, Sr.

LB – Price Towns, Milton, Sr.

LB – Jake Weldy, West Forsyth, Jr.

LB – John Allen Whitacre, North Forsyth, Sr.

DB – Brice Davis, North Forsyth, Sr.

DB – Kenneth Dicks III, Lambert, Sr.

DB – Matt Falink, Forsyth Central, Sr.

DB – Lucas Moore, Milton, Sr.

DB – Jaylen Pearson, South Forsyth, Sr.

DB – Jacob Walters, Forsyth Central, Sr.

Special teams

K – Arthur Boyzo, North Forsyth, Sr.

P – Keaton Platzke, Forsyth Central, Jr.

LS – Tyler Williams, Forsyth Central, Sr.

RET – Carter Mullikin, North Forsyth, Jr.port


Forsyth Central: Jacob Bump, Sr; Hunter Cagle, Jr.; Dalton Edmunds, Jr.; Blake McDaniel, Sr.; Will Miller, Soph.; Luke Morton, Soph.; Garrett Nash, Jr.; Spencer Pagley, Sr.; Anthony Perschetti, Jr.; Ben Ranke, Jr.; Tristan Rose, Jr.; Brad Thiltgen, Sr.; Mitchell Weber, Soph. Lambert: Ethan Anderson, Jr.; Galil Guillaume, Jr.; Bobby Gabriel, Sr.; Steven Majors, Sr.; Anthony Newton, Soph.; Peyton Rich, Soph.; Nathan Smith, Jr.; Chris Taylor, Jr. Milton: Hayden Hairston, Jr.; Brenden McNellie, Sr.; Kevin Murphy, Sr.; Jack Rhodes, Soph.; Paul Tchio, Soph. North Forsyth: Clayton Bardall, Sr.; Brent Grab, Jr.; Tristan Howard, Sr.; Chase Johnson, Sr.; Evan Johnson, Sr.; Hampton Wingruber, Sr. South Forsyth: Chris Biba, Jr.; Luis Gonzalez, Jr.; Carsen Hepworth, Sr.; Richard Jordan, Sr.; Jake Nitowski, Sr.; Daryn Rogers, Jr.; Nick Sewing, Sr. West Forsyth: David Bowman, Jr.; Bryce Jones, Sr.; Eli Orr, Ryan Wnek, Sr.