By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Football: West's Camara highlights all-region team
Linebacker named Defensive POY
sports-westlambert1-websmall JP
West Forsyth linebacker Mohamed Camara (3), who is committed to South Carolina, was named Defensive Player of the Year by the Region 6-AAAAAA coaches. - photo by File photo

Seventeen football players from Forsyth County schools were selected to the All-Region 6-AAAAAA first team, which was voted on by the region’s coaches and released on Monday.

West Forsyth senior linebacker Mohamed Camara claimed Defensive Player of the Year honors, while West head coach Frank Hepler was named Coach of the Year. Alpharetta senior quarterback Joshua Dobbs was chosen Offensive Player of the Year.

Region 6-AAAAAA coaches selected 38 players to the all-region first team and another 34 players to the second team.

Johns Creek and Alpharetta each boasted seven players named to the first team, and West Forsyth led all Forsyth County schools with five. Centennial, Chattahoochee, Lambert and North Forsyth had three players apiece on the first team, while South Forsyth had two.

Behind Camara, who is committed to South Carolina, West held opponents to 16 points or less in 7 of 12 games this season.

"We had a good season and I was able to do what I could to help us," Camara said. "I thought I had a chance [to be defensive player of the year], but I didn’t know until coach Hepler told me. It’s definitely a big honor."

"I couldn’t have done anything without my coaches and teammates."

Hepler and his coaching staff led West to a 7-0 start for the first time in school history this season. The Wolverines became one of the first 16 football programs in Georgia to win a game in the Class 6A playoffs before falling to Parkview in the second round and finishing 10-2.

No other team from Region 6 advanced past the first round of the playoffs this year.

Hepler has guided West to a 42-14 record since the program began playing a varsity schedule in 2008.

The Wolverines have finished above .500 every year, as their worst season came in 2009 when they finished 6-4.

West has made three consecutive playoff appearances and became the first Forsyth County football coach to win a playoff game in class 5A in 2011.

"It’s a great honor," Hepler said of the award. "I’ve been very lucky in my career to get a few of those awards and I say each time that it’s because of the coaches around me and the players that have put in the time to get that type of recognition.

"I’m very appreciative of those types of things. I think it’s really the ultimate recognition to your program [as a whole].

"I’m just very proud to have that happen. I let my guys know for sure that it’s not about me; it’s about [them] and what [they’ve] done."


All-Region 6-AAAAAA first team

Coach of the Year — Frank Hepler, West Forsyth

Offensive POY— Joshua Dobbs, QB, Alpharetta, Sr.

Defensive POY— Mohamed Camara, LB, West Forsyth, Sr.

First-team offense

QB — A.J. Erdely, West Forsyth, Sr.

ATH — Skye Overton, Johns Creek, Sr.

RB — Jake Wieczorek, West Forsyth, Sr.

RB — Chase Solomon, Johns Creek, Jr.

WR — Daniel Clements, Alpharetta, Sr.

WR — Christian Robinson, Centennial, Jr.

WR — Carlos Burse, Alpharetta, Sr.

TE — Ty Anderson, West Forsyth, Sr.

OL — Vincent Calhoun, Centennial, Sr.

OL — Mike Scullin, South Forsyth, Sr.

OL — Alex Behrend, Alpharetta, Sr.

OL — Andrew Marshall, West Forsyth, Jr.

OL — Gantt Bauer, Lambert, Sr.

OL — Colby Gossett, North Forsyth, Sr.

OL — Sam Arrington, Johns Creek, Sr.

First-team defense

DL — Naim Mustaffa, Alpharetta, Sr.

DL — Madison Hoke, North Forsyth, Sr.

DL — Jake Chickowski, Lambert, Jr.

DL — Majeed Bilal, Chattahoochee, Sr.

DL — Lorenzo McWilliams, Centennial, Sr.

LB — Bryce Grauss, Alpharetta, Sr.

LB — Tommy Welch, Johns Creek, Sr.

LB — Mickey Thomas, South Forsyth, Sr.

LB — Eric Fitzgerald, North Forsyth, Sr.

LB — Russell Monyette, Lambert, Sr.

DB — Brian Sykes, Chattahoochee, Sr.

DB — Tre Whitaker, Alpharetta, Sr.

DB — Josh Hearn, Chattahoochee, Sr.

DB — Will Somers, Johns Creek, Sr.

DB — Jack Pomerantz, Johns Creek, Sr.

First-team specialist

PK — Kyle Fowler, Johns Creek, Sr./Brandon McKee, South Forsyth, Sr.

LS  — Davis Winkie, South Forsyth, Jr. and Clay Barton, North Forsyth, Jr.

P — Brock Maxwell, Lambert, Sr.

KR — Justin Jackson, Chattahoochee, Sr.

All-Region 6-AAAAAA second team 

Second-team offense

QB — Chase Rosenberg, Centennial

ATH — Eddie Mirynowski, South Forsyth

RB — Isaiah Williams, South Forsyth

RB — Tanner Riddle, North Forsyth

RB — Julian Macon, Alpharetta

WR — Colin Lisa, Chattahoochee

WR — Brandon Fortin, Johns Creek

WR — Sam Walker, South Forsyth

TE — Blake Rowlinson, Alpharetta

OL — Will Bass, West Forsyth

OL — George Adeosun, Alpharetta

OL — Kyle Watford, South Forsyth

OL — Sterling Abney, South Forsyth

OL — Forrest Montet, Johns Creek

OL — Austin Dubois, Johns Creek

OL — Brandon Keith, Chattahoochee

Second-team defense

DL — D’Von Issac, Alpharetta

DL — O.J. Thompson, Chattahoochee

DL — Brett Anderson, West Forsyth

DL — Edvin Dizdazrevic, North Forsyth

DL — Reggie Ben-Asemota, Centennial

LB — Brett Larkin, South Forsyth

LB — Josh Salo, West Forsyth

LB — Ryan Bennett, Centennial

LB — Tyler Keely, Alpharetta

LB — Turner Fortin, Johns Creek

DB — Jordan Arnett, South Forsyth

DB — Kola Balogun, Centennial

DB — Luke Slaton, North Forsyth

DB — Danny Edgeworth, Lambert

DB — Jacob Hill, West Forsyth

Second-team specialist

P — Brett Schrafft, Centennial

LS — Michael Lopez, Centennial

KR — Will Brown, West Forsyth