By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great local journalism.
Soccer: Strong local presence on all-region teams
Soccer WEB 1
Lambert midfielder Cooper Coughlin, with 13 goals and 6 assists in region play, has been named to the all-region first team. - photo by File photo

Three players make first team

Region 6-AAAAAA’s coaches have named the top boys soccer players of the 2013 season.

Lambert, South and West Forsyth qualified for the postseason. Lambert advanced to the quarterfinals, while South and West both fell in the first round.

The Longhorns and War Eagles had three players on either the first or second teams, while North Forsyth had two and West one.

Coach of the year
• Phil Thomas, Centennial

First team

• Sebastian Guzman, Centennial (So.)
• Dioney Vega, Centennial (Jr.)

• Sterling Wendt, Centennial (Jr.)
• Trexler Bennett, Lambert (Sr.): 3 goals, 12 assists in region play
• Cooper Coughlin, Lambert (Jr.): 13 goals, 6 assists in region play
• Matt Morgan, Chattahoochee (So.)

• Mitch Webster, Johns Creek (Sr.)
• Cameron Bean, Centennial (Sr.)
• Harrison Malone, Centennial (Sr.)
• Ericson Bean, Centennial (So.)

• Kyler Kelsey, South Forsyth (Sr.): 7 shutouts

Second team

• Eduardo Anguiano, Johns Creek (So.)
• Bobby Hopper, Lambert (Sr.)

• Chris Witmond, Johns Creek (Jr.)
• Josiah Selvig, North Forsyth (So.)
• Brandon Herbert, North Forsyth (Jr.)
• Chris Mikus, South Forsyth (Fr.)

• J.T. Kiefer, West Forsyth (Sr.)
• Juan Sanchez, South Forsyth (Jr.)
• Jordan Payne, Johns Creek (Jr.)
• Jack Baker, Alpharetta (Sr.)

• Matt Celani, Centennial (Sr.)

Eight of 11 selections hail from Forsyth County

Forsyth County schools were well represented on the 2013 girls All-Region 6-AAAAAA team selected by the coaches.

Lambert boasted five first-team selections and South Forsyth had three, while two players from West Forsyth and one from North Forsyth made the second team.

South advanced to the semifinals before falling to Parkview, while Lambert was upset in the first round by North Gwinnett.

Coach of the year
• Scott Luthart, Lambert

First team

• Tatum Richey, Lambert (Sr.): 19 goals, 7 assists, four-year starter, 43 career goals, signed with Southern Mississippi.
• Rachel Shah, South Forsyth (Jr.): 21 goals, 8 assists

• Lauren Pinion, Alpharetta (Sr.)
• Willow Peterson, Centennial (Jr.)
• Heather Lacy, Lambert (Sr.): 11 goals, 9 assists, four-year starter, holds school record for career goals, signed with Ole Miss.
• Bailey Frederking, Lambert (Sr.): two-year starter

• Emily Wilhelm, Lambert (Sr.): four-year starter, two-time captain, led the back four, which gave up just 8 goals in 17 games.
• Lauren Sykora, Lambert (Sr.): four-year starter, marked the opposing team’s best player, signed with Berry College.
• Abby Nearing, South Forsyth (So.): 3 goals, including one in the semifinal game, 1 assist
• Hannah Andrews, Centennial (Sr.)

• Brie Haynes, South Forsyth (Sr.): 5 shutouts, signed with Georgia State

Second team

• Mandy Janowitz, Chattahoochee (Sr.)
• Clara Conboy, Johns Creek (Fr.)

• Nicole Finley, Alpharetta (Jr.)
• Haley Jackson, Johns Creek (Jr.)
• Hannah Hernandez, Johns Creek (Sr.)
• Alyssa Beck, Centennial (Fr.)
• Tiffany Raygor, North Forsyth (So.)

• Hannah Froats, Johns Creek (So.)
• Amanda Keith, West Forsyth (Sr.)

• Courtney Baum, West Forsyth (Jr.)